Honoring Our Place in the National Story

Susquehanna Heritage is seeking National Heritage Area designation of Lancaster and York Counties by the United States Congress. National Heritage Area designation will be an important step for advancing heritage and outdoor tourism in our region. National recognition can boost visibility and visitation, bring critical National Park Service support, and further promote the majestic Susquehanna River – its scenic riverlands, its vibrant river towns, and its special significance to our nation’s history. This designation will bring us into the network of forty-nine National Heritage Areas already established across the United States.

Our Progress So Far

After Susquehanna Heritage completed a local community engagement process and a National Heritage Area Feasibility Study Report in 2008, the National Park Service determined that our region meets the criteria for Congressional designation as a National Heritage Area. Encouraged by this necessary determination, Susquehanna Heritage continues to work with our Senators and Congressmen in Washington to acquire the designation that is attainable only through legislation – an Act of Congress.

In February 2017, U.S. Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr. of Pennsylvania introduced S.400, the Susquehanna National Heritage Area Act, to designate Lancaster and York Counties as America’s 50th National Heritage Area. In June 2017, U.S. Representative Lloyd Smucker, with U.S. Representative Scott Perry and U.S. Representative Pat Meehan introduced H.R. 2991 to establish the Susquehanna National Heritage Area Act. This legislation is a companion to Senator Casey’s bill (S.400) which was introduced earlier this year. The introduction of H.R. 2991 is a big step forward in our effort to achieve national designation!

Learn more here about our National Heritage Area Initiative.

How You Can Help

You can lend support to our efforts to become a National Heritage Area by contacting our legislators in Washington: Senator Bob Casey, Senator Pat Toomey, Congressman Scott Perry, Congressman Patrick Meehan, and Congressman Lloyd Smucker.